The Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins with a Single Chicken Foot

If we were gathered around the table with dice, a grid map, and a two liter of Mountain Dew – this is where I would tell you about the hooded stranger in the dark corner of the tavern. He would have a quest for you that would send you down the path to a life-changing adventure where you would learn that friendship is the greatest treasure of all.

Instead, I’m going to tell you how my adventure down this culinary rabbit hole started. There was no stranger in a dark robes. It was chicken feet.

Reading forwards of cookbooks, I think one could be forgiven for thinking that if you weren’t born with nonna and wielding a spoon by age of seven that you are forever doomed to be a culinary bystander. At the very least you need to have a transformative experience in a yummy Parisian open-air market dealing in seasonal produce, right?

Obviously not, because here we are talking about chicken feet.

img_5180
Chicken feet look like chicken feet, okay?

I remember standing in a grocery that is only romantic in my nostalgia-tinged memories. In reality it was between a bin of frozen seafood and a frozen bin of rabbits. Sitting in a refrigerated case just above the bacon and under the harsh fluorescent lights were Styrofoam trays of chicken feet. I would have been about ten and I was fascinated by these chicken feet – complete with toenails!

I lingered by the trays of feet in the hopes that someone in the bustling market would pick them up and I would be able to divine what on earth they would use chicken feet for. Because if they were selling chicken feet at the grocery then someone must be . . . . eating them? And that revelation where I went from “ewwwwww ew ew ew” to “I wonder. . . .” is where I gained my appreciation for food.

If that impulse of “holy merde, that’s a thing people eat and now I must know what it tastes like!” is familiar to you, then you’ve come to the right food blog. I solemnly swear that what you’ll see here are recipes and thought befitting a food geek – ambitious, occasionally overthought, and adventurous. I don’t have much patience for “twee” food.

These days you will always find chicken feet in my freezer. I use them to build gelatin in my homemade stocks. Also, they make the absolute best chicken wings.

 

Leave a Reply

